US Open History



Read through the storied US Open record books, including records established in singles competition for men (since 1881) and women (since 1887) in the national championship tournaments.

Year by Year


From 1968 to 2014, read a year by year summary of US Open highlights. At the 2014 US Open, Serena Williams and the Bryan brothers set Open era records, Marin Cilic claimed a stunning maiden title andmore than 700,000 fans experienced the Open.

Past Champions


Learn about past champions of the US Open. In 2014, Serena Williams of the United States won a record-tying sixth women's singles title and Marin Cilic of Croatia won his first men's singles championship.

Court of Champions


The US Open Court of Champions honors the achievements of the event's greatest champions, those individuals whose talents have helped build this tournament into one of the world's great sporting events. The 2014 inductee was two-time men's singles champion Tony Trabert.

Prize Money


In 2014, the men's and women's singles winners each took home $3 million in base prize money. Get a detailed breakdown of the prize money schedule.